MWP Seeking Nominations for Two Annual Awards


Midwest Partnership EDC (MWP) will present two awards—the Guy Powell Award and the Entrepreneur of the Year Award—at its Annual Dinner and is currently seeking nominations for each.

About the Guy Powell Award

Guy Powell, past president of Midwest Partnership EDC and active volunteer on the board of many other area organizations, was passionate about local and regional economic development.  He was a strong believer in the region’s potential. In recognition of his life-long dedication, commitment, and service, the Midwest Partnership Development Corporation created the Guy Powell Award, and has been presenting it annually since 2009. 

Businesses and individuals who are members of Midwest Partnership EDC are encouraged to nominate individuals who stand out as outstanding leaders in this area of west central Iowa, particularly in the counties of Adair, Audubon, Greene and Guthrie, and who work to make it a more economically vital place to live, work, and play. Those submitting nominations should consider the vision, leadership, courage and impact of the nominee and include a recommendation letter describing those qualities or examples of his or her leadership.

About the Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Since 2014, and as a part of the Regional Entrepreneurship Project, MWP has honored a local business owner with the Entrepreneur of the Year Award. The award is an opportunity to highlight the success of our small businesses in the region. Success can be defined as significant increase in sales, securing a large contract, innovative process or entrepreneurial ideas that result in meaningful performance improvements in the firm. Success may be also from within the community, a positive workplace initiative, an example of community volunteerism and/or can simply be a unique product or service offering.

Nominees must be businesses based in Adair, Audubon, Greene or Guthrie County; and can be employees, owners and/or management teams who demonstrate some level of entrepreneurial success with their area firm. Self-nominations are accepted. Judging will be based on specific achievements, as well as impact to the region at-large, company employees, customers, and other area businesses. Those submitting nominations should include a recommendation letter describing the success of the nominee.


The nomination forms for both awards can be found on the Midwest Partnership website (About Us > Annual Awards); and can be completed and sent back to Sarah Gomez at, faxed to (515) 523-1397, or mailed to PO Box 537, Stuart, Iowa 50250.  The nomination deadline is Friday, January 5.

Awards will be announced at the MWP Annual Dinner on January 25th, 2018 at the Lake Panorama National Resort & Conference Center in Panora.


About Midwest Partnership EDC

Midwest Partnership EDC is the non-profit, collaborative economic development organization formed to strengthen the economic vitality of the communities within Adair, Audubon, Greene, and Guthrie counties, as the region’s leading facilitator for the retention, expansion and attraction of business to create jobs and improve quality of life in West Central Iowa.

Guy Powell Award Award Nomination Regional Entrepreneurship Project Entrepreneur Award Midwest Partnership Annual Dinner Annual Award

Stay updated on everything news related to Midwest Partnership EDC.Submit your email to receive our monthly newsletter.

Copyright 2014 Midwest Partnership. All Rights Reserved.
615 S Division St Stuart, Iowa 50250 | PO Box 537
(515) 523-1262 | Fax: (515) 523-1397
Web Design by DWebware